When books come to life…my Very Potter birthday feast part 1 -The Leaky Cauldron

This year, I am turning 22. For weeks my friends and I have discussed the relative let down that this birthday is, after the “OH MY GOD I’M LEGAL” 21st. All the talking and reminiscing has made me nostalgic…but not for the drinking and new found freedom. I miss the old days of Harry Potter. The nights when I would wait in line until the clock struck midnight and one of those magic volumes was placed in my hand. On the way home, I would examine every detail of the cover artwork, trying to guess what mysteries awaited inside. And once I arrived at my house, I would lock the door to my room, slide into my pillow fort (which I always fortified beforehand with diet Pepsi and Cheetos) and refused to emerge until the last page was turned….

      There I go, lost in memory again. Anyway, this all got me thinking….HARRY POTTER THEMED PARTY. I know it isn’t the most original theme idea, but I don’t care. There will be owls, chocolate frogs, potions, a triwizard tournament and maybe even a little liquid luck to reward to the winner. And so, with my trusty and overindulgent boyfriend in tow, I have four days to turn a studio apartment into the entire magical world of Harry Potter.

WARNING: ADULT BEVERAGES AHEAD.

 

First stop, the Leaky Cauldron!

Drink Specials:

Golden Snitch (tequila shot)

Fire Whiskey (whiskey shot)

Gryffindor (vodka, orange juice, grenadine)

Slytherin (blue caracao, ginger ale, vodka)

Dragon Blood (Sprite, grenadine, vodka optional)

Unicorn Blood (Sprite, vodka)

Butterbeer (cream soda, butterscotch schnapps, whiskey)

Dark Mark (Coke and your choice of –OH)

Flaming Dumbledore (blue caracao, red food coloring in vodka, Bacardi 151 to light on fire (be sure to blow out flame first) optional: gold edible glitter)

Image

The Flaming Dumbledore

Mix blue caracao and red food coloring in a glass bottle until color is purple. Add gold flecks to add some sparkle!

Transfer to shot glasses and top with Bacardi 151

Light on fire. When warm, blow out and drink with straw. 

Careful, glass will be hot!

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “When books come to life…my Very Potter birthday feast part 1 -The Leaky Cauldron

  1. That looks magical! Haha!

Leave a comment